Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many today argue that teenagers should be trialed for the offense they have committed in the same manner as adopted for adults. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion as I believe that proper guidance and rehabilitation are what they need. Young people are still immature individuals as they are still in between of being a kid and being an adult, that when they commit crimes, they should not be treated as grownups. They are old enough for kisses, hugs and toys, but young enough for major decisions that grown persons have to make. Teenagers may act out like adults but in reality, they still need accurate directions, proper education, and acceptance to help them make sound decisions and prevent them from committing mistakes and eventually crimes. For instance, some teenagers could not comprehend the degree of the crime they have committed because no one was there to guide them. Thus, maturity does not only come with age but with correct supervision. Moreover, the age of the offender should be taken into consideration for the penalty they have to receive. Youngsters should not go through the same penalty like adults but should be given rehabilitation rather than prison time. For example, putting them in a rehabilitation center where they can be educated and guided properly will help them get ready for a new life when they are released. On the other hand, placing them in prison with the other inmates may aggravate their bad behaviors that will hinder them to make their lives better. More so, if we give them a sentence equal to adults, we are robbing them of their youth and the chance for them to reshape their future. In conclusion, juvenile punishment should differ from that of the adults because their crimes were a result of immaturity and can be corrected with proper guidance and rehabilitation