Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. What is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative developmnet?

It is becoming extremely common for the young generation to get addicted to mobile devices. The most prominent reasons behind this are the addiction created by mobile games and increased social media usage. In my opinion, this is a very dangerous development because it can cause intense damage to our society by hampering children's studies and pushing them into psychological problems. To explain further, factors such as the enslavement of mobile games and soaring social media sites lead to rising screen time for young people. This is because, most games and websites, in order to keep their consumers engaged, employ dopamine-inducing mechanisms, resulting in teenagers becoming the prime target group for dopamine cravings. Gen-Z, for example, is hooked to their gadgets so much that it is becoming concerning for governments of certain countries. Thus, because youth is getting into unforced habits to an irreversible extent, their cellphone consumption is skyrocketing. Since longer hours spent on phones occupy a major chunk of their time, it severely affects these students' education. Moreover, this is resulting in a sharp rise in mental health issues of the young population. This is due to this trend's harsh effect on the concentration ability of their developing brains. To illustrate, a recent study in Nature magazine explained how excessive usage of a mobile phone adversely impacts students' focus and how they are unable to excel at school because of it. Some acute cases even become dropouts and go through unimaginable trauma. Hence, it is a very negative development because it hampers two of the most critical things in these children's lives. To conclude, enhanced gaming experience and sharply rising social media consumption are two main culprits behind children spending a major portion of their day on handheld devices. This, according to me, is a very alarming fad as it damages the foundation of society by influencing education and health.