Tourism has emerged as one of the biggest industries of this decade, but its disadvantages cannot be overlooked. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

For many countries, tourism became the most significant income source in the past 10 years. It is believed by some that despite all the advantages tourism brings, nations should also pay attention to the potential threats brought by the trend. I totally agree with this view. It is obvious how tourism could boost the local economy in terms of various other industries, such as accommodations, catering services and other consumptions. The tourist spots benefit the businesses in surrounding areas by bringing more people to the place. Taking Machu Picchu, the world-famous historical architecture as an example, the surrounding businesses are packed with the crowd all year round, which would be impossible without the development of tourism. Moreover, the demand of tourists creates an immense number of job opportunities for the locals, which contributes to a more stable and harmonic society. Nevertheless, excessive tourism is also a reason why a lot of ancient historical sites and the natural environment are damaged. For instance, the Great Wall in Beijing, once promoted as a must-visit-once place, was severely destroyed by the enormous number of visitors over years. Some ignored the rules and climbed on the walls, which caused too much pressure on the structure. I believe it does not worth sacrificing important heritages containing rich cultural values and wisdom in exchange for current economic growth. In addition, due to too much reliability on the income from the tourist industry, a lot of people were thrown into poverty when fewer people were travelling around the globe during some world crises, such as covid 19 and wars between nations. That reminds us of the importance of balancing the development of all industries in a country. In conclusion, although tourism brings us a bunch of economic benefits and effectively lowers the unemployment rate, we should not underestimate the negative influences it may cause on the original inhabitant and the possible danger when the country count on a single sector.