Nowadays, many physical retail shops (such as clothing stores) are being replaced by online shops. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the past, people had a tendency to buy things directly at retail shops, but in this day and age, there is an increasing number of buyers finding it more comfortable to go shopping online. Thus, there are many physical retail shops are being replaced by online stores. In this essay, I would argue that despite its convenience, it is better to choose physical outled as it is more reliable and easier to get a refund. On the first hand, convenience is the biggest perk of online shops. It is because people do not need to waste time browsing around the shops for hours to hours because of not finding suitable items and queue in long lines in front of counters. However, with online shopping people can comfortably shop at midnight without waiting all day long and can find items that they are looking for more quickly. Hence, the more convenient online shopping is, the more retail shops are being replaced by online stores. On the other hand, there are many risks of fraud that online shoppers might get involved in. Firstly, it is common for many online customers who have fallen victim to credit card scams, phishing, identity theft and so on. As a consequence, many people lose a fortune just with a click of a mouse. To give a clear example, many older customers who have very little knowledge of technology have been given a link to receive a special prize and as soon as they enter that link, all of their money is gone to another’s bank account. In addition, getting a refund can be the most disastrous experience of online shopping. It is inevitable that people might have some troubles with their purchases and want to get reimbursement. However, many reimbursed procedures are made to be extremely complicated, so customers find it impossible to send back refunded items. To conclude, many physical retailers and being replaced by online ones. Although it might be more convenient when people make online purchases, I would believe that it might come with many disadvantages such as the risk of losing a huge amount of money and the complex refund process which might be avoided if people buy in person. Therefore, I would argue that the disadvantages of this development can outweigh the advantages.