Shops should not be allowed to sell food and drinks that are scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Food and drinks with scientific proof to be harmful to the health of humans are argued to be banned to sell in stores. I partially agree with the statement with my supporting reasons in this essay. To begin with, forbidding the sale of some products would help sustain the health and life of many people. If that unhealthy product is sold in the shops, it would deteriorate the public's health and results in several problems mainly more incoming patients in hospitals. For example, MSG which is proven to cause cancer is shown on the shelves and is accessible to purchasers. When consuming continually and in a long run would be harmful to health. Thus banning it beforehand would reduce and lessen the problems. Moreover, in the case of beverages or food that contains any chemical substances that are sensitive to some particular group especially children, teenagers or pregnant women such as beer or other alcoholic drinks they should be banned in the case of these groups of people. However, not allowing the purchase of food and drinks would be a violation of rights. Individuals should be able to make their own decision on what they want to consume or have. Restrictions on food and drinks should be made only if it is poisonous or are a threat to lives or well-being. Thus banning would be overprotective and is rather an unproportionate measure. In avoiding any health problems, signs and warnings should be shown on the packages instead. This is to allow the public to make up for their desires. For instance, soft drinks that contain a huge amount of sugar that could lead to diabetes should instruct the buyers to take only small portions at times and show the amount of sugar contained. This is to avoid any impacts caused. In conclusion, food and drinks with scientific proof to be bad for health should not be completely prohibited since that might violate the right of purchasers to get whatever they want. However, some products should be banned from some particular group and they should contain product information.