In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is true that the consumption of imported food items has increased over the period. To this, There are some factors which help to account for this trend, but measures can be implemented to encourage more people to consume food which is manufactured locally. In many countries, people are noticeably buying more imported food types and there are numerous reasons to explain why this is happening. Firstly, the attractive marketing and presentation of imported food goods give them an appealing and appetizing appearance. In this way, consumers then come to expect certain high standards of packaging, so that, food looks tasty, safe, hygienic and, in the case of some products, easy to prepare. Secondly, the availability of a wide range of foreign food enables people to vary their diet and experiment with new recipes. This may provide a welcome change from eating the same meals every day, which inevitably becomes tedious and no longer stimulates the taste buds. It is possible, however, to take steps to encourage the consumption of locally produced food. Local growers should ensure that their products always look clean and fresh. In Vietnam, for example, all the fruits and vegetables, meat and fish on display at local markets must be presented in scrupulously hygienic conditions, protected by plastic wrapping to keep away dust or flies. The government should enforce strict food safety regulations. Another measure could be to increase the types of food produced by inland farmers, which would then eliminate the need to import those foods from other countries. This would stimulate the local economy and reduce the environmental costs of transportation known as food miles. In conclusion, while are some obvious reasons to explain the rise in popularity of imported food, some simple measures should be adopted by local food growers to meet this challenge.