News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Mass media is a crucial part of our society and people do not stop disputing its role and effects. This essay will analyse three global questions regarding why it is so huge in our lives, why we see a lot of negative reports and we will decide whether we should switch our focus to positive topics instead. First, the importance of news can be justified by the fact that individuals simply want to know what is happening around them. If people are up-to-date with the latest information, they become more confident and less stressed. Knowing nothing about the latest events makes us feel isolated. For instance, it may dramatically affect our health. Second, the bad news tends to appear more often on our screens, in our headphones and in newspapers, depending on what data source we prefer. It works this way because this kind of information is more easily monetized. Basically, it draws more attention, looks more attractive and more often goes viral. If something is generating more revenue, it will be used more and more. For example, there are some channels on Youtube that review even good events in terms of negativity. Sadly, this approach is quite popular. Thirds, I am sure that the news agencies should show both good and bad news, based on credibility. We should not filter the news, because there are pleasant and horrible times, all of it is a part of our life and we need to hone the skill of guarding ourselves against the news we do not like. In conclusion, radio, newspapers, and social networks play a tremendous role in the life of our countries. The fact that there is a lot of negativity in the news reports should not bother us, we need to become less stressed out by them. It would have disastrous repercussions if it was decided to start filtering information and show only what some group of people finds suitable.