The rise of instant foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages and disadvantages with this trend.

Recently, there have been concerns about the increasing acceptance of junk diet over healthy meals by some individuals in society to meet the fast life demand of the city. However, the essay will explain the pros and cons of the trend with suitable examples in the subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, the main advantage is that it safe time. For instance, 24 hours a day is not enough for some individuals to face the hustle life of the city. So spending time preparing homemade food is gradually becoming out of the norm. Moreover, another important of the proceeding is that unhealthy diets are cheap compared to homemade meals. For example, in Nigeria, it has been reported that it cost an average of 200 dollars to prepare a home ration that will survive a single person for a day, while the same amount of money is enough to feed a week the same person on junk cuisine. Despite the advantages, one of the demerits of the behaviour is that it resulted in nutritional diseases. For example, the world health organization stated that unhealthy diets lack nutritional value and are implicated in the occurrence of diseases like obesity and diabetes observed in the community. Another disadvantage of the habit is a loss of interest in cultural foods and cooking skills among the youths. For instance, many juveniles no longer crave traditional edibles and the act of their preparation in the kitchen, therefore the heritage fades off. To sum up, the popularity of unhealthy cuisine among the populace is on the rise in the metropolis and the debate discussed the benefits which include affordability as well as a time saver and obesity with food culture disappearance which are the setbacks. Although, in my opinion, I believe these practices are good even though it has a few disadvantages.