In many places, people's lifestyle is changing rapidly and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the ever-changing atmosphere, local culture and lifestyle have been influenced by the electrical world and international cultures. A heated debate about whether or not this rapid development has hampered the relationship between family members has sparked. Despite the fact that it hinders real-person connection, it, in fact, helps the family to build a more tight-knit bond. Hence, I believe the rapid change of lifestyle does more benefits than harms. To begin with, the development of mobile gadgets has brought people from different regions together. Even before the pandemic struck, social media, including Facebook and Zoom, has gone rival that it is not an uncommon tool for families who are separated due to a plethora of reasons, such as migration and overseas study. If it is not for the online platform that breaks the geographic barriers, these parents and children would have lost contact for years. Consequently, it is undoubted that the change in lifestyle due to technology development is beneficial for maintaining family connections. On the other hand, others convey that international culture invasion in Hong Kong decreases the amount of quality time families have. For instance, families, nowadays, prefer quick meals to a family gathering that takes more than an hour as the culture of fast food prevails. Yet, let us not forget that quality has no correlation with quantity. As long as family members do care about each other and have a genuine conversation during meals or daytime, their relationships remain healthy. Instead, families are often well connected via online communication applications, like Whatsapp and Wechat, to give immediate responses. Therefore, it might not be true that international influences affect family harmony. Having discussed that the modern lifestyle keeps family connected and facilitates quality time, instead of harming it, I utterly maintain that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. I am convenient that if family members respect and value each other, no means can deteriorate their bonding.