A for and against essay about the internet. Is the internet bad for young people?

It is an obvious truth that we all can easily access to the internet nowadays. Teenagers have always found social media to be extremely appealing because of its many practical applications. However, the increasing amount of time that young people spend online begs the question: what are the positive and negative consequences does this action brings? At first glance, it is easy to understand why the internet is so popular among youngster. One benefit of it is that students can access a wide range of information when they need it, saving them from having to read over numerous books in search of it. It is true that these days people can find literally anything from any fields, for instant: art, astronomy, history…which really help students and college students. Another positive aspect of the internet is that the online networks works as the news channel for young people. It can provide latest news instantly. Finally, within using cyberspace, teenagers can make friends around the globe, practice foreign language with foreign friends as well as keep in touch with families and buddies. On the other hand, there are also negative consequences. If being overused, teens can easily get addicted to online gaming and internet surfing which mean that they might spent too much time online and neglect their study and exercise. In other words, those children might lack in social activities and interactions in real life and struggle academically, have few friends, and spend insufficient time with their families. In conclusion, online networks can bring disadvantages and negative consequences on teenagers if being used wrongly or overuse. However, I personally think the NET is a fantastic tool and transportation if we know how to exploit the benefits of it and remember not to use it excessively.