In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are they advantages and the disadvantages of giving children this message?

Every parent has their own way of upbringing, and it usually depends on the culture which they have been seeing and following from their childhood. In some cultures, offspring are advised to work hard to achieve great endeavours in their life. While reminding children to perform excellently in all the tasks will motivate them but constantly doing so will certainly have some drawbacks. To commence with, when a kid is asked to give their best while working on something the main motive behind this trajectory is to push them to achieve excellence. Moreover, it also helps in developing a never-give-up attitude. For instance, a lot of parents force their children to study harder in school, so that the child scores good marks and attains a position in the class. Thus, this will allow the pupil in gaining confidence and a concept to excel in all aspects of life. On the contrary, there are always two sides to a coin, therefore, the constant pressure to achieve everything will lead to anxiety and frustration. Additionally, in the long run children might feel inferior and doubt their capabilities if they don't succeed despite making all their efforts and this will make it hard for them to overcome defeat. For example, most people in Japan are trained and are forced to work hard from an early age due to this more than half of the population is suffering from depression and the suicide rate in Japan is comparatively way higher than the other countries. To conclude, while there are various benefits of advising children to work hard enough to succeed in a task, for all that the limitations come along with it.