Reports show that it is increasingly expensive to keep museums open to the public. Explain why museums should be kept. What is the best way to fund them? (Government, business, individual)

Over the past decades, national budget spending has never ceased to draw public attention. Although the national budget has long been the main source of funding for public museums ' operations, the issue of whether the participation of entrepreneurs and sponsors should be encouraged remains controversial. To the best of my knowledge, concerted efforts of both government and private sector are needed for the following reasons. Firstly, it is important to recognise that local governments are responsible for preserving indigenous culture. Many may argue that there are more urgent demands for fiscal funds like poor infrastructure, and understaffed schools. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should consider that museums are the only institutions which acquire artefacts and artworks and research them, conserving them for historical cultural values. Furthermore, legislators should plough back tax revenue to social aspects for social benefits including the museums. Therefore, refusal to finance public museums is not only an unappropriation of taxpayers’ earnings but also a responsibility evasion from cultural protection. Secondly, it is equally important to recognise that the involvement of patrons and commercial businesses is instrumental. The opponents may argue that businessmen are profit-oriented, they only spend money on fields that hit frequent headlines. This investment could result in unbalanced development of fields. This argument is reasonable to some extent. However, they are ignorant of the fact that on many occasions, budget deficiency (deficit) prevents governments from funding public museums. For instance, while governments are on a tight budget, fiscal money should be distributed carefully and thoughtfully to the prioritised aspects like medical care and education. This example shows that the intervention of donators and organisations will be complementary to governments. In conclusion, the collaboration of both lawmakers and the private sector is the every-inch solution to the operation of public museums. Not only do local governments hold the obligation for cultural protection as mentioned above but also the participation of patrons contributes to the compensation of budget deficiency.