Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Throughout the years, the obsession with eating junk foods is causing mischievous effects on its consumers. As a solution to this problem, governments may impose taxes on consuming unhealthy diets. Although many people support such a taxation process while some do not support these as it may violate one's right to eat whatever they want. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will be explaining both points of view. Those, who are on the side of putting a toll on the consumption of junk foodstuff, believe it is an effective way to reduce unhealthy diet practices. According to them, the public will not be conscious of their meal habits until authorities intervene in it. Therefore, on one side addition of extra value to foods containing less nutritional value will reduce the purchased quantity of such snack items while on the other side the revenue earned from the value-added tax can be used to provide for those who can not afford daily meals. Hence, the implication of the concept of tax will bring a positive impact on the whole community. In contrast to the above, many folks are against tariffs on foodstuffs. As per their beliefs, tariffs can not be the solution to balanced food practices, since the population addicted to junk foods will continue to buy those no matter how much it costs. For example, putting a tax on cigarettes could not reduce the number of smokers rather they either cut off their expenditures on other necessities to buy cigarettes or become violent to snatch from others. To conclude, morbid diet habits of individuals affect not only them but also their surrounding people. Though intervention on food habits may reduce the practice in the short term, in the long,run it may not effective at all.