Life has become much more stressful compared to our parent’s generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are increasing around the world. What are the causes of stress among young adults and what do you think can be done to overcome this problem?

Nowadays younger generations tend to have a more stressful lifestyle than their parents did in the past. There has been an increase in mental health among them. In this essay, I will point out how social media platforms with visual content have increased adolescents' mental health. Firstly, it can be seen that in current times people are using social media on a daily basis, which was something their parents did not have any access to. Since these apps are a newer item for young viewers their brain has not yet been able to adapt fully to the amount of time they spend on these platforms. For instance, young individuals tend to spend a lot of hours on different kinds of social media apps like Facebook, Instagram or Tik Tok. These apps have a lot of information which makes it harder for their brain to adjust to. Furthermore, like when they constantly stare at the screen and the amount of new information, they either read watch or listen to. Moreover, when these young adults are using these social platforms more regularly, they are keeping their brain in a constant active state which creates an internal stress. For example, by having access to these apps it causes the brain to always be in a switched on mode and never lets it fully rest. This is harmful to their brain and will trigger their mental health to decline and feeling more ill. In addition, by reducing the amount of time they spend on being active online they will have the ability to reduce their levels of stress and improve their overall health. In conclusion, young adults tend to feel more stressed and having an increased in mental illnesses due to having access to these social media apps. If they were to reduce the time spend on them, they will feel more relaxed and happier.