Criminality is growing among children and teenagers. Why is it growing and how should these criminals be treated?

In the contemporary era, more and more minors are getting involved in criminal activities. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and its mitigation. Firstly, it is widely known that parents today spend less time parenting their children than before. As a result, minors spend most of their time on video games and mobile phones. Meanwhile, these games  are often violent in nature, which easily influences them. For instance, research produced by the national statistics centre demonstrates that children engaged in violent gaming are more likely to exhibit radical behaviour in reality. Secondly, peer pressure plays an important role in a child committing illegal behaviour. Minor's brains are not equipped enough to undertake correct thinking and reasoning thus, making them highly vulnerable to any type of group pressure. It is evident that children get into the habit of smoking, drug abuse and gang fights from peer pressure. The most vital punishment for such offenders should be the community service and rehabilitation program. Enforcing criminals to volunteer for their society can introduce them to their role in the community, which is likely to make them more responsible for their societal people. Secondly, provision for rehabilitation programs should be allocated in the criminal justice system. We cannot expect offenders to abruptly let go of the habits they have adapted for years. For instance, a drug addict minor has a higher tendency to commit the same crimes repeatedly unless they are helped with their addiction habit first. To conclude, children and teenagers are the future of our world. However, more and more of them are involved in criminal activities these days. Poor parenting and peer pressure play crucial roles for them to commit such radical behaviour. Such offenders must be treated with community service and rehabilitation programs.