During the first year in college or university,many students find themselves unsuitable for a chosen course. Why is this happening? What can be done to prevent this?

Having waved goodbye to their high school study, students begin their college life with expectations. However, many students find themselves in trouble: some courses they have chosen defy their anticipation, to which those freshmen are unable to adapt. There are several solutions for this. Many factors can account for this unsuitability. Firstly, under the influence of family members, many students chose courses which their parent thought promising and rewarding, but they themselves had no interest in. For example, Tom’s desire to be a painter motivated him to work hard in order to get enrolled in college, which would promise the pursuit of his dream. However, when choosing college courses, his parents coaxed him to select business-related ones that can groom him for a job in top 500 corporations worldwide. But this was not what Tom wanted. Therefore, it will not be hard to understand why Tom cannot suit himself to his choice. Secondly, it is highly possible that students are not familiar with aspects of the courses, such as class size, class types like whether seminars or lectures, professors’ teaching style, and even what the course is about. All of these factors are likely to give rise to unfitness. Luckily, measures can be taken to tackle this problem. To begin with, parents should learn to respect children’s preferences instead of imposing their own inclinations on young people. This would leave space for young people to make their own choices, a big guarantee of the acceptability of courses. Besides, university can orient freshmen by taking actions like recording short videos briefly introducing the syllabus of the course and professors’ teaching style. Those would definitely make students acquainted with their selections beforehand. With these students are prone to find courses that best suit themselves. In conclusion, first year students will continue to face this dilemma unless parents and schools take respective steps.