Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are an increasing number of people shopping, which is a leisure activity. But, some people believe that has both advantages and disadvantages. There are several reasons why shopping become so popular as an outdoor activity. The first reason is caused by productivity development. It allows factories to produce more products at the same time, and reduce the cost of goods. Therefore, companies would like to decrease the price of products to attract customers. People are attracted by low prices and are more willing to buy. The second reason is more and more advertisements. Nowadays, we can see advertisements in every aspect of our life. We can see advertisements in the street and on television, especially since the development of the Internet makes advertising more pervasive than before. Their advisements induce folk to buy goods and even let people who have no intention to buy change their minds. As a result, more and more people would like shopping, if they have the chance. On the other hand, shopping has greatly affected our lives and society. With shopping becoming more and more popular; it is common for people to buy something which is unnecessary. It makes people lack money to meet basic living needs. Finally, people's stander of living will be decreased. Moreover, the increase in the popularity of shopping makes the social economy will be stimulated by shopping. More and more people buy, leading to a full cycle of the economy. Furthermore, a growing number of shops have opened, thus creating more jobs. So, the country's economy will be revitalized. To sum up, multiple factors lead to shopping becoming more and more common. At the same time, it also brings different impacts on people and society.