Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people argue that the eligible age for marriage is 21 years old. I strongly agree with this notion mainly because of maturity and financial readiness. At age 21, young individuals are considered ready to enter marriage because, at this stage, they are classified as mature. Their maturity is based on and supported by their education which they have experienced previously because usually, they have graduated from an undergraduate program. As a result, they will calmly face every challenge in their future married life. in other words, youngsters who marry at an early age tend to ruin their marriage by having more disputes with their spouse. It ends with a divorce due to their lack of maturity which can be seen from the vast number of separations among young Indonesian couples nowadays. Furthermore, 21 years age bride is considered more independent in terms of finances. Economics issues have become the most common problem among couples in Indonesia. Therefore, preparing for financial readiness by becoming well literate in regard to economy, and possessing enough capital, are crucial for every individual. For example, the more ready the brides are financial, the easier their life in the future will be. It is because they have already eliminated one of the potential problems. Achieving such financial independence before age 21 is normally difficult; hence, allowing under 21 age persons to marry will cost them many future problems. In conclusion, issuing a policy requiring brides to be at least 21 years old is the right decision since marriage should be prepared well and supported by the couples’ psychological and financial readiness.