Some people think that strict punishment for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however ,believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both view ad give your own opinion.

In the salad days of the millennium, an increase in traffic accidents is observed. Hundreds of people get involved in car disasters on a daily basis. Whereas, society is polarized into two groups almost equally regarding the notion of whether a strict punishment is the best possible solution or other steps should be taken to control this issue. However, in the following paragraphs, I would shed light on numerous reasons to discuss both views and then present my stance. To commence with the first perspective, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour. First and foremost, harsh reprimands are beneficial to make offenders realize the importance of human lives. For example, if a person knows that he will be sent to prison for a certain period of time because of his reckless driving, he always tries to drive carefully. Hence, he always has a fear in his mind to get penalized for his mistake as well as has respect for others. Moreover, such kinds of punishments force folks to follow the rules of the traffic. For instance, due to heavy penalties, they avoid taking their cars on the roads until they are well aware of all the influx signs. Otherwise, he will be fined or sued for breaking the freight law which is the major cause of accidents. Shifting towards the second school of thought, awareness programs can be another option. These types of training assist drivers in taking necessary precautionary measures while driving their vehicles. As a consequence, these programs do not forcefully insist individuals drive carefully but make them mature enough to decide what not to do which causes accidents. Furthermore, the speed limit is also advantageous. For illustration, restricting speeding in busy places or in critical areas such as airports can succour in minimizing disasters. According to research, response time in applying brakes or slowing down the acceleration of the car at lower speeds is significantly decreased as compared to higher ones. In conclusion, after having discussed the arguments and the counter-arguments, I would like to infer my personal opinion that other approaches can be adopted to tackle this problem such as awareness schemes and speed limitations.