One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, life expectancy has dramatically increased due to an overwhelming improvement in medical care. It is argued that the main advantage of this phenomenon is that society may benefit from the knowledge of those seniors whilst the disadvantage is the fact that they may represent a burden for society. It is conspicuous that improving life expectancy is positive for our modern economy as well as for our development. Indeed, workers, thanks to the noticeable scientific progress that is witnessed in the healthcare sector, are able to work longer. Whilst the conventional retirement age had been about 60 years old some decades ago, it became 65 years old in the majority of European nations.In this regard experienced people, who became skilful through their whole careers, represent a priceless help for companies in numerous sectors. For example, the best doctors are the elder consultants because they enhance their knowledge through their extended working life. However, living longer features also inconveniences.It is crystal clear that extremely old citizens tend to become ill and unable to accomplish simple tasks.They might be gifted, they are just unqualified to work though.In this regard, some argue that those people are nothing more than a burden for society and for their families. In fact, they involve high expenditures to deal with their diseases, especially when they don't have a consistent income or reliable insurance. In many countries, for example, a wide range portion of seniors didn't have a pension after their retirement and became dependants of their families. In conclusion, the surge in life expectancy is a beneficial phenomenon for our society because it allows old people to work more and to strengthen our economy. Even though, those may represent a heavy burden for their families. In my viewpoint, our grandparents, no matter the money we should spend to live with them, remain priceless.