The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate parents about parenting skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Never has the topic of crime failed to attract our attention. However, when it comes to the approaches to reducing juvenile delinquency, people hold divergent opinions. Some people believe that educating parents about good parenting skills is the best way to solve this thorny issue. Personally, I partly disagree with this view as I think it is farfetched to state that it is the best method. It is hard to deny that equipping parents with professional parenting skills is useful. First of all, parents with adequate knowledge about child upbringing will educate their children better. To be more specific, it is not rare to see that the young break the laws due to a lack of ability to distinguish right from evil. Under such circumstances, parents acquiring parenting skills will be able to teach their kids properly and prevent them from imitating misbehaviours, going astray and even becoming jailbirds. In addition, educating parents strengthens the family bonds. Specifically, learning parenting skills helps parents know how to communicate and interact with their young family members, which improves family relationships. In this case, children who grow up in such happy families are mentally healthy and less likely to commit a crime. Therefore, the youth crime rate will be declined. Although imparting parenting skills is beneficial, the lurking threats brought by such measures should not be ignored. On top of the list, it aggravates the financial burden on the government. It is undeniable that the local government should assume responsibility for providing parenting courses for the local residents. As a result, the authorities have to invest a large amount of money into subsidizing parenting education which means they will cut the budget on other crucial issues such as education and medical health. Besides, it may impose pressure on parents. It is not uncommon to see that nowadays people are confronted with fierce competition in their careers. There is no time for adults to take additional courses due to the overload of their work which means educating parents may increase their pressure in daily lives. As a result, the public's mental health may be impaired. To sum up, I maintain that educating parents should not be regarded as the best way to lower youth crime as it may be counterproductive. Only when we combine this way with other measures can we enjoy pleasure rather than pressure.