In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In several nations, an escalating number of citizens are suffering from health problems because of unhealthy eating habits which as excessive fast food consumption. Therefore, many argue that the authority is responsible to implement a higher tax on this type of food. I firmly agree with the aforementioned view because of two rationales: to prevent sellers from producing food that contains poor nutrients and indirectly force consumers to set a preference for a healthy diet. The unbalanced amount of nutrients contained in fast food in people's daily meals is responsible for the increased risk to individuals' health. People can suffer from various diseases like cancer, cardiovascular problem, and other chronic illness when they cannot maintain healthy eating habits. Owing to this, the involvement of the government to alleviate the detrimental effect of this kind of food through tax instruments is essentially required. Moreover, the higher tax on unhealthy fast food will obviously make the price increase leading to difficulties for producers in selling the food. Another argument in favour of the proponent of a higher taxation scheme is this approach can softly drive people to change their eating habits into healthier ones. If a higher tax is implemented by the government on the fast meals, the price of food will significantly increase and become a huge burden on people's daily expenditure. Consequently, citizens might consider selecting other kinds of meals that not only have good nutrients but also with lower costs. In conclusion, the scheme of higher taxation on fast and unhealthy meals is an important measure to prevent the negative impacts of unbalanced nutrient foods. Another effective measure related to the transparency of food ingredients of the meal should be taken into account to comprehensively solve this problem.