Modern people mostly stay at home rather than going outdoors. What are the reasons for this trend? Is this trend good or bad?

It is evident that people of the current period spend most of their time indoors. There are many reasons for this increase in the fraction of the population preferring to stay at home instead of going outdoors. This essay outlines some of the reasons and discusses the impact of this trend on society. Some of the reasons why people went outdoors in the past were for shopping, meeting friends and family, banking and work. Surprisingly, it has now become possible to do all of this from home. For example, people can use the internet to do online shopping and have it delivered. Moreover, technology has allowed people to conduct meetings online and work from home. This has particularly increased after the pandemic as both employers and workers have discovered the benefits of working from home. Although it is true that staying at home has provided the convenience of the comfort of doing everything while staying within the personal bubble, there are problems that come with it. There is a growing number of people with minimal social skills and many are suffering from social anxiety. The lack of human interaction which resulted from staying indoors plays an important role in adults having reduced social skills. To conclude, technology has provided the accessibility for people to do everything from home which has resulted in people not having the necessity to go outside. Although this is convenient under many circumstances, the lack of human interaction has led to reduced social skills and psychological disorders. Therefore, the trend of continuously staying at home is not beneficial to mankind.