Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think that there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To reduce crime rates, great efforts have been made to achieve them. Now there are disputes as to whether we should extend prison sentence time or not. In my opinion, we have other options, categorizing crimes and taking relative measures. Admittedly, the main point of prisons is to take away dangerous people from our communities. For example, those who murder others in a cold-blood way must be restricted of their freedom as long as possible. The reasons for their behaviours would be psychological problems or damage to chemicals of their brains that can affect them continuously. Thus, putting them in prison longer is a good solution. However, there are still disadvantages. The prisons would be increasingly crowded so that there is no space for the latter criminals. If more prisons are need to be built, it would need more taxes to afford the fees. Therefore, our government would have less to invest to other sectors as our budgets are never unlimited. Therefore, I tend to think that we can take other alternative solutions. For the first point, we should categorize prisoners as not all of them are murders. For instance, murderers and drunk drivers should not be put in the same prison. In addition, we can ask communities to monitor those who have committed relatively slight crimes, such as stealing. This can not only force them to correct their mistakes but also give them a deterrence that they cannot commit crimes. In conclusion, although long prison sentences may reduce crimes to some extent, this is not the best way for all crimes. We should adopt various measures to different crimes so that we can save social resources as well as reduce crimes.