Some think increasing business and cultural contact between nations is positive. Others think it leads to the disappearance of the national identity. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Many feel that the effects of globalization on economics and culture are beneficial. In my opinion, although there is an argument for the financial implications, the risks to the uniqueness of national identity make it a negative overall. Supporters of such close contact point out the meaningful economic ramifications. This is particularly important for more isolated and undeveloped nations. There are countries where natural resources are extremely lacking or unbalanced and this has slowed their progress historically. For instance, many countries in the Middle East lack the arable land to support large population growth. The discovery of vast reserves of oil in the 20th century allowed them to exploit trade agreements to improve their economic outlook and basic infrastructure. This same fact applies to varying degrees to nearly all nations as trade enriches and a country without necessarily creating any negative byproducts. Nonetheless, the danger for culture is more lasting and therefore more significant. The national identity of a country is not simply made up of the dominant ethnic group. Every country has minorities and ethnic populations that are most at risk through this process. For instance, in many parts of Asia and Africa there are numerous indigenous groups that struggle to flourish in a modern, global economy. For instance, the Hmong in Vietnam are famed for their craftsmanship and attention to detail in hand-weaving and dyeing sustainable clothing yet many of them must now abandon their traditional roots to live in cities and work anonymous jobs for large corporations. Once such cultures are lost, they will never return and the economic benefits will be little comfort at that point. In conclusion, despite the economic advantages of globalization, the possibility of a country losing its individual cultural character is too great a risk. Countries must therefore take steps to safeguard their culture.