Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest of our lives, while others believe that adult life brings more happiness. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is suggested that the teenage years are the time when an individual is the most satisfied. However, I agree with those who maintain that, by and large, people find more contentment in adulthood. Some people justifiably argue that adults derive greater satisfaction from life since they are more mature-minded and conscious of their own decision than teenagers. From a psychological standpoint, man are less prone to act impulsively and can see the negative and positive sides associated with a situation. In adulthood, options are analyzed more critically; a strategy which is more likely to result in long-term fulfilment. In addition, adults often appreciate what they have such as health simply because they are aware of their mortality. This sincere gratitude also leads to a deeper sense of happiness. In contrast, others claim that adolescents are generally happier since they have fewer responsibilities. They insist that teenagers do not have stressful jobs and are, therefore, happier. However, I am not convinced by this argument as, in fact, assuming responsibility and grappling with challenges help individuals feel efficient and productive. Therefore, since teenagers do not face and overcome difficulties that adults encounter, they do not experience lasting happiness. To conclude, I believe that adulthood is generally a more joyful period because during this time people are more emotionally and intellectually mature. Thus, their decisions are less hasty and more informed. Furthermore, person experience a deeper sense of contentment as they rise to challenges; an opportunity that is not readily available during the teenage years.