All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this, and how could it be tackled?

Obesity is not a relatively new phenomenon, but it has grown among people in the new century., Obviously this phenomenon is rooted in many factors, whose investigation can help us to adopt the right solution. The root cause of obesity lies in people's new lifestyles all over the world. Today, advances in technology provide the context in which people can cram in a lot of tasks in a short period, such as working, shopping, keeping in touch with friends and family, and to name but a few. As a result, a sedentary lifestyle and not take enough exercise contribute to putting on weight and obesity. An unhealthy and poor diet is also quite effective in this regard. Consumption of carbonated drinks and junk food like fast food has grown in popularity recently, which contain many sugar, salt and unsaturated fat, and pose serious threats to the human body. Every day, people are bombarded with hundreds of advertisements depicting soft drinks, chain restaurants, food courts and new products of manufacturers, which are intended to give a clear message to the audience. In dealing with such a problem, the most critical step is to raise public awareness. The media, in particular, should assume an active role to inform the public about the destructive and deleterious consequences of obesity. People should be encouraged to do more exercise on daily basis to keep in shape and burn out some calories, so government must construct sports facilities like walking/jogging tracks and gyms in all neighbourhoods. Last but not least, tax should be levied on junk food heavily and at the same time, organic and healthy food should be provided cheaper. In brief, I hold the view that obesity is rooted in social changes that have occurred in human society. Tackling this problem requires informing people, enacting appropriate laws and providing some facilities.