ome people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should make efforts in reducing environmental pollutions and housing problems. To what extent do you agree to disagree with this statement?

It is a saying that government should pay more attention to reducing environmental pollution and housing problem instead of preventing illness and disease. I partly agree with it, and this essay will explain why. It is true that pollution and residential problems become more and more seriously. The first thing is the public suffers pollution from in cities and rural areas. Industries want to make more profits, so they move to rural regions. Many people who live in the countryside, will intake waste gas, which comes from factories. It will cause significant damage to their body if they undergo this pollution. Also, car emissions and noise make folk who live in cities, could have more respiratory and mental diseases. Furthermore, there is a large number of people living in crowded and dirty places due to housing problems. There is not enough personal space for them, and hard to clean. Finally, people's mental and body health will suffer a significant impact. On the other hand, it is impossible to ensure society is completely safe, disease prevention is an important defence line to protect people's health. Nowadays, we have much more methods to prevent diseases. For instance, people use masks to prevent novel coronavirus infections, which is a sufficient way to keep our health. Moreover, children are vaccinated in the first few years of life. Through this method, thousands of children are protected from diseases. As a result, preventing diseases has a noticeable influence on people's health. To sum up, both are excellent measures to improve our health. So, I believe that government should make efforts in reducing pollution and housing problems, but we should also prevent diseases.