In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Globalisation opened doors for countries to exchange goods and traditions. A variety of possibilities are available to the public buying costumes from the international market. As a result, in many countries, people now prefer western outfits instead of their traditional ones. While sharing cultural values among each other has a lot of merits, demerits overshadow them. To start with, it is always considered to be beneficial of sharing the tradition with foreigners. Learning offshore heritage and lifestyle helps the population become open-minded and upbringing them. For instance, knowledge of different clothes helps local businesses to produce similar items, increasing their brand value and margin. Therefore, sharing traditions can benefit a nation economically. On the contrary, dressed were designed considering various factors like religion, nature, surrounding and moral beliefs of the ancestors. Fully acquiring Western wearables led a country to lose its own heritage and lifestyle. For example, people in Sri Lanka were so amazed by the western culture that they stopped buying their traditional dresses, because of this children are not aware of their root values. Hence, cultural morals are the beauty of any nation and wearing western clothes like jeans and suits leave a negative effect on them. To summarise, modernisation has made it easy to become aware of different trends, undoubtedly, it has various merits on the population of a country, however, one can not deny the fact that its disadvantages surpass the advantages. If asked, I believe wearing jeans rather than traditional costumes has a negative effect on society.