Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Some people claim that when they come across an advertisement, they tend to ignore it, while others feel that they are convinced readily to buy things. Although, people try avoiding adverts, I agree with the latter point of view because ad campaigns are well targeted to hit the audience emotionally. On one hand, advertising has become extremely crucial part of any marketing campaigns and companies spend hefty amount of their overall budget. Moreover, companies follow a thorough market research and smartly target the right audience on their preferred platforms like social media, website or emails. For instance, once a visitor has bounced off the website without buying, there are techniques developed to retrace that visitor and target him explicitly with attractive visuals. Once the visitor is bombared with the same advert, he thinks twice and revisits the website and may eventually buy the product. Also, organizations take help of influencers or celebrities to market their product in order to create an impact on the relevent audience which works impressively and the people start impulse buying. On the other hand, ads if not properly targeted by the company can frustate the prospect which may result in people avoiding it. Also with the cut-throat competition in companies, people are shown advertisements in vast numbers which could overwhlem them and they end up buying nothing. Likewise, adverts won't connect with few people because they aren't intented for them. Drawing from my own experience, I was once shown ads on youtube regarding women's cosmetic products which was totally irrelevant for me. Even if I am really in need a particular type of product and I come across it, however, I found it unattractive or not upto my expectations, it is certainly because it is not marketed properly. In conclusion, I believe advertisements are easily capable in convincing people to buy products if they are targeted to the right audience and on the right platform.