Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people claim that the extinction of particular plant and animal species is the major environmental problem, while others feel that there are other far more important problems. Although extinction of species shouldn't be overlooked, I agree with the later point of view because problems like global warming, deforestation, acid rain, etc are of extreme concerns on a global scale. On one hand, it is argued that losing plants and animal species is the biggest concern, however, in a bigger picture, the root cause should not be ignored. There are multiple environmental problems which are leading to extinction of species and efforts should be to resolve those issues first. Moreover, number of forest reserves should be increased for the endagered species and provided with the best medical facilities. Awareness should be spread globally to not hunt animals particularly among tribals. For instance, the main reason for extinction of dodo was that they were hunted in large numbers. On the other hand, global warming which is the biggest danger to mother earth is increasing day-by-day. Deforestation is rising due to urbanization which is forcing animals to migrate, however, surviving in a new environment is difficult unless the need for food and water are met. Industrialization is growing at a fast paced which is leading to air and water pollution. People are suffering from lot of health problems, for example, depletion of ozone layer is causing skin problems and the average life span of humans is also decreasing with time. In conclusion, I believe that if other environmental problems like global warming, deforestation, air and water pollution are taken care of, we can witness increase in the number of species which are now on the verge of extinction.