Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, technology has changed the way we used to communicate with each other. With the introduction of computers, handwritten messages and letters have disappeared. However, some communities believe that writing and reading skills will get badly impacted by using these accessories, and others have different opinions. This essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, technological devices have been significantly creating a hurdle for reading and writing by making them forget about reading books and handwritten notes. Common practices like underlying and identification of word meanings using dictionaries result in wiping out of learning and retention of vocabulary. For instance, for the IELTS reading exam, a person needs to answer questions by reading through the paras and this might require underlying keywords, which might be difficult for a student to remember while using digital devices. Furthermore, the habit of handwritten notes is getting eliminated as more and more computer-generated notes are getting used, which would result in a downgrading of our writing expertise like- spelling, using punctuation marks, neat handwriting and slower writing. For example, nowadays office goers face difficulties while writing essays on paper for the IELTS exam, as they are using digital platforms for their day-to-day jobs like writing emails, etc. Hence, the young public should not excessively depend on these resources, as it will negatively impact their reading and writing tasks. On the other hand, some parts of society believe that computers and mobiles do not have such an impact, instead, these might help them to correct their mistakes using different software. For example, software like Grammarly identifies each and every mistake related to the writing, along with suggestions relating to different vocabulary and synonyms. Also, the Internet provides access to a wide variety of data, which is available without any cost for reading purposes. For example, Wikipedia stored excessive information which is readily available to everyone. Therefore, these devices can be proven useful, when it comes to accessing knowledge and autocorrection of errors. In the conclusion, these systems might help you the diversified and worldwide data, but at the same time, excessive use will negatively impact reading and writing knowledge. In my opinion, increasing the use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on youngsters reading and writing ability.