Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that nuclear weapons are extremely beneficial for our world. To a certain extent, I agree that the armaments are helpful for human-being. However, I also believe that the aforementioned military equipment is unbelievably dangerous. On the one hand, I confirm that fission weapons are to keep the earth safe. That is to say, having access to the atomic bomb technology by some countries prevents devastating wars, because they clearly know that if they attack a country equipped with the weapon, it is probable the whole world be destroyed. It causes the fighting to be called off per se. For example, during the cold war, both the US and Russian governments had been armed with hydrogen bombs. They were threatening each other orally. However, being afraid of the destruction of the Earth, they did not start the bloodshed. On the other hand, these kinds of weapons are incredibly fatal. It means that if an army used the atomic bombs, it would demolish all live creatures of the region on the spur of moment. An infamous instance is the bombs which were employed by the American military in the Japanese cities of Nagasaki and Hiroshima at the time of the Second World War. It was immensely harmful and led an overwhelming majority of innocent people to die. In conclusion, in my book, although the existence of nuclear battle equipment plays an important role in preventing global wars, due to their high potential they are detrimental beyond belief.