Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Advertisement in sports is something usual nowadays, especially it became so after the appearance of sports broadcasting. There are many arguments about the benefits and drawbacks of that, and in that essay, it will be explained thoroughly. There are many types of sports, some are more popular like soccer, others are less. Nonetheless all of sports have their own audience and fans, who are ready to buy special merchandise or advertised stuff in the sports events. These money is crucial for many types of sports in modern day, even for those which have millions of strong fans throughout the world. One of suchб is cybersport, it is a non-athletic and young, but still popular type of sport. Unsurprisingly, many authorities ignore gaming competitions and do not recognize it, so do not see any necessity to fund cybersports, like other types of sports. However due to enormous size of fanbase, many gigantic international companies mainly from food and gaming industry support this type of sport in exchange for the advertisements from the gaming clubs and teams. Namely the biggest sponsors of cybersports are HyperX, Mountain Dew, Redbull, Doritos. Thanks to them the cybersports is thriving and making a big progress year by year. Despite of that, there are also disadvantages of sports products being advertised by famous players. When fans see the high and ideal performance of their favourite players and hear the words of their idols telling how the equipment from their sponsors improved their game, advertised products start to become some sort of brand, and special for fans. The light example is Air Jordan, the legend of basketball Michael Jordan wore and advertised it, and now it became a brand itself. It is bad for the fans, for the company and for the sport itself, as the product becomes a brand, the demand for it increases and so does the price. In other words, product becomes popular and expensive with no true improvement in the quality. It boosts the stance of company in the market that makes this product, making it more powerful with no increase in competitiveness of the business. Moreover, if this occurs many times and simultaneously several products of the company become brand, then it might lead to the result where the single company controls the whole market. As example the Nike, the company that is strongly linked with the sports shoes, especially for basketball, as it manufactures the whopping 90% of all basketball shoes. The hype around the company is so high, because of the legendary players wearing their shoes, that no one even arguing with the quality of their products or the relevance of the price of their shoes. To conclude, the advertising in athletics is the common sight, and it has its own drawbacks and benefits. Sponsorship is one of the main sources of income for some sportsmen, while for some types of sport it brings the decline.