Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditionally, children have studied foreign languages at later stages in their educational careers, but some believe that it could be beneficial to introduce foreign languages earlier. While there are both advantages and disadvantages associated with this topic, the positive aspects take precedence over the drawbacks. Young children are better able to learn languages for a variety of factors. First off, studies show that young children pick up languages better than teenagers. The younger brains are, the more they are able to retain information in the long term. It has also been proven that young brains absorb material at a faster rate. Additionally, implementing language lessons in primary schools would allow for more flexibility within the school system. Younger children will be able to engage with the material more frequently through shorter sessions, thus maintaining their enthusiasm and progress. However, there are some disadvantages when it comes to learning languages at an earlier age. Primary school teachers may not be qualified to provide lessons in foreign languages, resulting in inadequate teaching. This could demotivate younger students and give them a negative experience in language learning. Further, school districts may not be able to carry on foreign language teaching from primary to secondary schools. In this case, students would not only lose their progress but they would also be demotivated due to the lack of consistency throughout their educational careers. Despite this, these issues can be effectively addressed through consistent support in the school district, and pose only a minor threat to the advantages Although there are a few disadvantages to the study of a foreign language during primary school, there are a plethora of advantages that outweigh the negative aspects. Young children ’s innate abilities should be appreciated and fostered to their full advantage