Doctors should be responsible for educating their patients about how to improve their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We all are familiar with the famous saying “Health is Wealth”. It is rightly said that if we want to live a long and a happy life, we should take good care of our health. In this essay, we will discuss whether Doctors should be responsible for educating their patients about the ways to be followed for a healthy lifestyle. To begin with, a doctor’s first and foremost duty is to treat their patients and diagnose them with proper medication. Doctors play a vital role as they save people from losing their lives. Considering the importance of their life, I believe that educating the patients will consume a lot of their precious time which can be used to save someone else’s life. However, giving a piece of advice is no harm as that would be effective and beneficial at the same moment. For example: if a diabetic person is under treatment, a doctor should guide him/ her on what foods to avoid and what to include as a part of their diet. It would be really difficult for a fully employed doctor to educate their patients along with the treatment. We need to understand that a doctor’s life is very precious. One should adapt a healthy lifestyle and there are various reliable sources available to gain knowledge related to improvisation of health. For example: apps like Healthy-Fi-Me guides on diet and workout based on individual’s body structure. Therefore, we conclude that nonetheless Doctors should be guiding their patients in relation to health improvement, however that is not a part of their core duty.