Some people belive that advertising has a strong effect on a person's decision-making process. Other people believe that it has little or no real impact. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a controversy about whether ads have a strong effect on our decision-making process. I think ads can influence our minds through different methods largely, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, they use novelty to attract more consumers. It's expected that all sorts of classical and successful ads always possess novelty that can draw the audience's eyes to a large extent. They use novelty to make their content unforgettable and let viewers quickly remember the characteristics of this ad. Take Redbull as an example. All Redbull ads are invariably linked to extreme sports; therefore, whenever people see Redbull, they will automatically link it to the feeling of excitement. As a result, consumers are persuaded to buy Redbull because they believe drinking Redbull can make their tedious life more thrilling. Second, ads are substantially used to gratify people's desires. Take Cola zero as an example. As we know, Coca-Cola is one of the most successful soft drink companies in the world. However, this company was criticized several times for health issues. Hence, they invented Cola zero to tackle people's concerns about their body health. That's why Cola zero is popular nowadays, on the one hand, it satisfies people's needs for soft drinks; on the other hand, it's not detrimental to people's health due to no sugar. On the contrary, when people are not interested in the content of certain ads, then they seem less attractive. For example, if you are vegan and you see a KFC ad, you will probably ignore this ad because it doesn't align with your tastes. In conclusion, on the one hand, ads have a strong effect, on the other hand, they have a weak effect.