When designing building, the intended use of the building should be taken in into account as important rather than the outward appearance? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Plenty of factors are considered while designing and constructing any building. Many historic buildings as well as newer modern buildings are posh looking and have a very attractive exterior which adds to the beauty of the surrounding neighbourhood. Though the outward appearance is preferred to be appealing, I completely agree that it is essential to design the building based on its purpose. To begin with, the intended use should be the main driving factor while designing any structure. For instance, If a hospital is being designed, it is more important to consider the placement of the emergency room, the operation theatre, test centres, recovery rooms as well as other important rooms. Moreover, these factors are prime ones, they should be considered while creating the blueprint of the hospital as opposed to thinking about how their placement would impact the looks of the hospital from the outside. Furthermore, having all these rooms in a sequence which is not functional, will affect the functioning of the hospital. To add to this, the hospital which provides good treatment and care to its patients is preferred over the one that looks fancy. Similarly, while planning a residential building, the focus should be on making each and every apartment self-sufficient and comfortable to live in as compared to making it look fancy. Hence, making each apartment spacious with all the necessary rooms like a kitchen, living area bedroom and bathroom and easy access to the elevator, fire extinguisher, and an emergency staircase to each and every apartment, is necessary. To conclude, how well the building is designed to suit its purpose is the key, as opposed to its exterior design. If the interior is not efficient to use, a fancy exterior would not matter.