Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with these statements.

As Humans evolve, transportation naturally becomes one of the major factors for any economy to consider investment and I would here attempt to justify state resources spent on railways rather than roads. On the one,hand we have roads, that take up prime space in a city or village, that's mostly utilized by those travelling using their own modes of transport, with the rare exception of buses for public transport. They not only take up valuable land that's a limited resource but also add to the overall cost of maintaining the city and road network due to the need for services such as the traffic police in order to maintain law and order on the streets. On the other hand, railroads are mostly located away from the busy city centres and are also an ideal option used to move large crowds efficiently. If we look at a few successful models of national transportation, Singapore would be within the top three countries with a very successful system that almost eliminates the need for its citizens and tourists alike, the need to own their own modes of transportation, meanwhile where many would rather prefer to take a train for convenience sake and for cutting costs incurred on fuel and maintaining a vehicle. Hence an ideal solution for a country with a growing population. It goes without saying this would also contribute to building greener and more sustainable cities with less carbon footprint. Therefore,in conclusion, it is quite evident that government spending on building railroad infrastructure could be better justified rather than the latter considering the many merits of this system.