Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before. - What are some of the negative effects of children watching a lot of television? Do you think young children should be allowed to watch television?

In our day and age, placing children in front of televisions has become extremely common all around the world. I believe that children should be allowed television time, as long as with moderation. This essay will discuss the negative effects exposure to television can have on a kid's life and bring a few points to clarify my point of view. Firstly, many parents tend to introduce TV to their kids at a very young age, much like with the pacifier. They do so with the idea of stopping or avoiding tantrums. Although there is a positive side to this idea, it can also be problematic since television has a lot of influence on a child, beginning with the addiction it can bring. For example, a child can get used to being put in front of a show every time they cry, so their brain understands that to get what is wanted, they should cry, therefore crying equals TV. In addition, this addiction deprives them of a healthy and outdoorsy lifestyle, not allowing them to learn other important things. Nevertheless, as much as exposure to tv shows brings negative effects to a juvenile brain by becoming an addiction and taking energy from more important activities, it can also be a form of education, depending on what is being exposed to and for how long. There are shows specifically made for learning purposes, allowing parents an easier way of teaching their kids countless life lessons and skills. Such as the alphabet, numbers, counting, reading and writing. With the technology that is offered today, it is possible to use the TV for engaging and learning purposes, people just need to keep in mind that too much of it can have unfavourable effects on children's brains. In conclusion, exposure to television for long periods of time can have many disadvantages in a child's life. But when managed and for intellectual objectives such as learning, the TV can be beneficial to them.