People can eat a wide variety of food that can be grown from other areas. As a results, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantage of this tend outweigh the disadvantage?

In recent years, the import and export businesses have skyrocketed. With the advanced technology and fast services, people benefit from getting goods from worldwide and enjoying their perks. However, I disagree with the above statement as according to me local food should be given the first priority instead of fancy transported items. To begin with, if any food item is available locally and has the same nutritional value then I believe people should not opt to buy those hyped products. For example, nowadays, people in India have started consuming avocados for good fats, which are really expensive because they have been imported from Mexico, instead of spending hundreds of rupees for 1 or 2 avocados, people should start consuming fatty fish or nuts, dry fruits if they are vegetarian. Secondly, if products are purchased from local markets, then the local sellers would be able to earn more, hence, it will be a win-win situation for an individual and the society. Moreover, local farmers would be able to make some more money. For instance, farmers in India are suiciding because they are unable to sell their in-grown food, therefore they get less value from the wholesalers and are unable to provide support to their families, which forcefully makes them take unnecessary steps. Therefore, considering the situation of our own neighbourhood is merely important. Additionally, governments should introduce a programme to teach the farmers to grow a variety of crops according to suitable weather conditions and land fertility, due to which locals would be able to export those items, which increases the profitability ratio, hence boosting in economy of the nation. To conclude, not just local people but the government should also take some essential steps and aware the natives for considering locally grown food instead of imported items. Supporting our own products will enhance the country's unity and will gain respect from the fellow nations.