In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

Urban areas have been facing space constraints for several decades. Consequently, some argue that the space in rural areas could be leveraged to overcome this issue, whereas others opine that it may rather prove detrimental, as construction might destroy the existence of the countryside altogether. I believe that we ought to protect the rural areas and find alternative solutions to tackle space issues in cities. First of all, metropolises are teeming with people leaving hardly any breathing space for the inhabitants. This is because jobs are mainly available in cities and hence people are thronging to them. As the limited space has run out, the government might have to use the available resources and the land of the suburb and agricultural areas so as to meet the needs of the rapidly growing population. However, this may have dire consequences as it would affect the environment, the ecosystem and the aesthetic beauty of the planet. To begin with, a vast number of trees would be chopped-down to construct buildings and this, in turn, would aggravate global warming. Indeed, the natural habitats of the birds and animals would be disrupted causing ecological imbalance. Furthermore, a loss of flora and fauna would make the earth a hostile place to reside in. Therefore, building homes in rural areas is not a viable way to solve the housing crisis in cities. In my opinion, new houses should not be built at the expense of biodiversity. Instead, the government should use cutting-edge technology and insights of scientists worldwide in order to find safe and reliable methods of executing vertical expansion. To sum up, although major cities are in need of more homes for the inhabitants, building skyscrapers in the countryside is hardly the best solution.