Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

During these days many people believe that the population is producing a larger quantity of waste compared to the previous past. This essay will discuss the reasons behind the rubbish increase and what actions our government could take to amortize it. Firstly, is a common opinion that the main factor of this large excess of waste is the economic well-being continuously increasing in our society. For example, recently the wages rate was increased in many sectors. In fact, people are way more inclined to buy premade food which is normally wrapped in a lot of plastic rather than fresh ingredients. Secondly, the younger members of our society are becoming more and more materialistic, an example could be how easily a pair of shoes is replaced nowadays compared to the past when our parents and grandparents used to repair them instead. There are several steps that the government could put in place to overcome this issue. To begin with, a possible solution could be to re-establish the previous average salary which could redirect the community’s expenses. Perhaps, they would be keener to use their money more wisely. Moreover, schools could introduce alternative classes to encourage the youngest generations to reduce, reuse and recycle all kinds of material, and scaffold a sense of empathy for the environment as well. In conclusion, despite the current society’s wealthy and materialistic mindset may represent an issue, if the government, alongside the school system would focus more on student sensibilization towards the recycling topic the world will have great benefits.