Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmental authorities. In my opinion, properly handled, this is a sensible and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays scientists have brought huge changes to our daily life, many people feel that those scientific studies should be supervised in some way by specific federal or provincial departments. In this essay, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks which result from this supervision. On one hand, a crucial advantage that oversight from related government authorities have is more funding will be allocated to scientific projects which are beneficial to public health or economics. For instance, CDC spent far more money on research in virus and public health such as COVID-19 vaccine development and related pharmaceuticals, which offered variable choices for prevention and treatment of COVID. Besides more financial resources, the law force office also helps monitor ethical issues and even criminal behaviours in research. For example, CDC asks all animal and clinical research to obtain ethics approval before processing, which helps reduce breaches of research integrity. On the other hand, the supervision of responsible authorities also can lead to some disadvantages, such as delays in the progress of science. Researchers spend lots of time on paperwork preparation and application, which causes less time efficiency and international crosstalk, especially in some sensitive areas, like nuclear power and space exploration. Moreover, these imposed restrictions also damage scientists’ self-esteem and make them less creative. In these circumstances, researchers will no longer keep their passion over time. In conclusion, although governmental department supervision is beneficial in terms of financial support and reduction of ethics problems, it is also important to consider that they also harm scientists’ creativity and delay scientific progression.