many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. sugary products should be made more expesive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that by making sugary products more expensive, people will be encouraged to buy less of these products. Although this might appear to be a good solution, I believe that it can’t be effective permanently. The continuing demand for consuming sugary products is not mainly just because they are cheap and delicious, and it is more because people are not properly informed of how using them can harm their health. This is why increasing the prices cannot stop people from using them. Since most people don’t know how much of each component a product has or aren’t aware of the upcoming harms, they will continue buying sugary products even if they are expensive. After a while, people will get used to the prices. This is because the barrier of prices is not powerful enough. Even if the request decreases due to high prices, this change would be temporary. A rise in the prices of sugary products will result in an increase in the profits of the companies that make them. As a consequence, they can expand their business and therefore, even more, sugary products will be available in the market. The variety and availability not only cannot stop people from buying these products but also may give them more reasons to do the opposite. In conclusion, I believe the concerns about the harm these products do to our health are right but trying to prevent people from using sugary products is not a good way of controlling this problem.