Some companies spend a lot of money on scientific research and use animals for testing. Do the advantages of using animals in research outweigh its disadvantages?

No one will deny the fact that a number of establishments spend heavily on scientific investigations and conduct related tests primarily on animals. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of animal-based research before stating if the advantages outnumber the disadvantages. Scientific exploration is expensive and the results need to be accurate. Firstly, animals are biologically similar to humans and face similar health problems. Secondly, most of them have short lifespans. Thirdly, substantial evidence is required before human trials. For example, COVID vaccines were first tested on rats, monkeys and other creatures before human testing. There are several diseases that are incurable and it is imperative to find a cure soon as several people have succumbed to them. On the other hand, there are growing voices against using animals for research. There are several organizations such as PETA that fight for animal rights, primarily arguing that every living being has the right to live. There are several animal lovers who are against using these inferior beings for research due to the harmful side effects and permanent disabilities that they have to suffer. In addition to this, sometimes the results can be misleading and turn out to be fatal during human trials. To summarize, companies doing scientific analysis spend extensively and do animal-based research mainly because of their similarities with man, shorter lives and sufficient data requirements before human testing. The tests conducted on animals may require euthanization or leave them unfit for life and may give incorrect results. In my opinion, performing tests on humans without much research on the expected side effects can become catastrophic, leaving us with no choice other than animals.