The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is argued that the most effective solution to tackle environmental issues is the increase in fuel prices. While I accept that the measure could bring many positive influences in the short-term period, I partly believe that the raised awareness of inhabitants is more important to combat this global problem. To start with, rising costs such as petrol, oil, and natural gases could help address global issues. Industrial sectors, especially fossil fuel power plants, ought to find alternative energy sources inclusive of nuclear and renewable energy to replace them with. This would lead to fewer greenhouse gases and emissions which are released into the atmosphere, as well as mitigate global warming and pollution. Another reason is that the rise in these prices makes commuting expenses rise significantly. People who live downtown tend to use public transportation, carpool, or cycle to work instead of driving private cars. Therefore, this could also help reduce the number of exhaust fumes produced in the atmosphere. On the other hand, raising costs are not the best approach to deal with this crisis. This is because, in recent years, the cost of propellants has risen enormously however, the use of personal automobiles keeps growing at an alarming rate. Moreover, educating the citizens about the importance of protecting the Earth will address environmental concerns. When people have full awareness of this, they are willing to take action to save nature and their surroundings. For instance, individuals will attend protection programs where healthy lifestyles are encouraged and people's connection in the community is heightened. In conclusion, although the increasing petrol costs could somewhat contribute to the improvement of our living conditions, it seems to me that improving people’s consciousness of their natural surroundings and habitat is by far the most practical solution.