More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

The Internet has made our lives easier by providing easy access to every type of information online which has reduced the practice of reading newspapers or watching TV. Undoubtedly, this has led to the saving of time and money, but at the same moment brings along serious issues which go unnoticed. These might affect our physical and mental health in the long run which we will discuss in detail today. Firstly, people who support the idea of reading news online would base their opinion on the fact that it is an economical method as it will save energy, paper and time. For example: One can get live updates on their smartphones while travelling to work or school. However, we should not forget that somehow these gadgets are isolating us from our families. The time that we used to spend watching TV and discussing the report with our parents and siblings is now lost. The practice of rising early and spending hours amidst nature and reading the newspaper is used to nurture our brains in a healthy manner. Further, it is difficult to rely on sources of online news as there are hundreds of fake sites available that publish wrong data as these are sold out to manipulators. Newspapers and TV are more reliable sources of news as compared to online published data as these are handled by authorities in power. Therefore, we conclude that reading online may prove economical but in the long,run it can lead to human isolation keeping them distant from their hobbies and making them internet puppets.