Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Illicit drugs such as heroin and cocaine have been banned by governments due to extremely negative effects on humans. However, some people believe that drug bans should extend to the consumption of alcohol and tobacco. I think laws governing the purchase and use of alcohol and tobacco should be banned. Tobacco and alcohol are not legally considered illicit drugs due to the lesser negative stigma of these two aforementioned substances. However, considering the negative impacts that tobacco and alcohol have in the long run, governments should put policies banning both substances. For example, people who smoke and/or drink regularly have a higher percentage of developing lung and liver diseases such as lung cancer and liver cirrhosis respectively, which can be detrimental to one's health. Thus, prohibiting both drugs can improve one's overall health. Another thing, these two substances are highly addictive and mind-altering. For example, a drunk person driving a car can cause an accident on the motorway which can lead to multiple people including themselves hurt or even worse dead. As consumption of liquor can lead to altering one's spatial and time perception this alone can warrant a ban on its use and purchase. With the use of tobacco, improper handling can cause house fires that also negatively impact a lot of people. For example, in our town, three houses have burned down due to improper disposal of used tobacco. So, banning its use can lessen harm to other people. Overall, tobacco and alcohol have negative impacts such as detrimental to a person's health and can harm other people. Thus, I believe that these negative impacts can be aided by the government by prohibiting its purchase and use.