Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s world, superstars are often praised for their glamorous lifestyle despite their hard work and accomplishments. Some populations believe this behaviour could have an adverse influence on the young population and I agree with this statement to a large degree. Many people do not see the truth behind celebrities ’ glamorous lifestyles. Raffi Ahmad, for example, is one of the celebrities in Indonesia who is mainly known for his wealth and extravagant lifestyle. Rarely do people focus on his struggles to achieve success. This gave a false assumption to most young people, which could negatively impact their sense of self if we are not careful. In addition, most young folks are still searching for themselves. When they do not see the struggles that celebrities might have to face to attain their successes, youngsters may be thinking that they can have it all easy. Therefore, they can easily feel dissatisfied with their current life and self-image. They must know that celebrities are here to please and entertain the masses and what they see on social media may not portray reality. That is why we need to teach youngsters to look at celebrities ' lives in a more objective way. In conclusion, the young’s confidence and their perception of themselves should be nurtured and protected. To do this, we might have to remind them to spend less time on the internet and remind them that celebrities ’ glamorous lifestyles are just an illusion, and they should not be something to be compared to.